Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

7 Jan

Okay, so maybe it has been awhile since I posted anything here, but I have been in a long reading rut. I don’t think I’m completely out of it yet, but I felt inspired to review Fangirl. 

I am also a fan of the cover art... It is just so cute!

I am also a fan of the cover art… It is just so cute!

This book was exactly what I needed right now. As we entered 2014 I realized that I will in fact be turning 30 this year. The problem is I don’t feel that “adult” yet.  Fangirl reminded me of how far I’ve actually come in the last 12 years of my life. I am old enough now to appreciate how much more I understand about life, but still young enough to remember what it felt like to be naive, confused and trying to figure it all out. To be honest, I’m still trying to figure it out, but I think I’ve come a pretty long way since those first 2 post high school years. 

I digress… Rainbow Rowell’s college aged protagonist, Cath, is superbly written. Even though I personally was much more like Wren, Cath’s more outgoing twin sister, I had a lot of the same doubts about life that Cath has in the book. She has no idea how to cope with the new world she has been thrust into. Before college she always had her sister to lean on and be guided by, but now even though they are at the same university they are exploring it in very different ways.

Fangirl touches base on those awkward days living with a roommate who is basically a stranger. It explores what it is like to be exposed to partying for the first time. It shows how people can really get out of control in college, but others just feel lost and alone. The book really displays how confusing a first “adult” romantic relationship can be. It deals with loss, difficult classes and professors, stupid boys and amazing boys, and just all that college stuff that is so overwhelming (like where to sit in the food hall or what do you do if you are late to class).

If you were ever that dorky, introverted, girl without any idea when boys were flirting with her or just teasing her this book is for you. If you weren’t that girl, then this book will definitely help you understand what it was like to be the dorky girl.

If you were ever obsessed (or still are obsessed) with Harry Potter, Twilight or in my case Buffy the Vampire Slayer to the point that real life didn’t seem to matter, then this book is for you. If you weren’t ever a fangirl, then this book will help you understand what it was like to be one.

For me it was great to be exposed to what typical college life was like. I lived at home for college. I went to a community college for 3 years and a local state school for 2. So the only “normal” college experience I saw was when I would visit my friends who lived on campuses away from home. According to some new adults I’ve heard from, this book does a great job of illustrating all that “new to college” stuff.

I highly recommend this book if you are a teen on the brink of being a college student, a new college student just figuring things out, a “young-ish” adult who wants to remember how complicated we used to make everything, or an older adult who doesn’t understand why their college kids seem like different people all of a sudden.

I am very much looking forward to reading some other books by Rainbow Rowell in 2014. On my TBR list I already have Eleanor and Park (another YA novel), Attachments, and her to be released book Landline (July 2014). 

Leave a Reply

