Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

9 Oct

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is a bit embarrassing, but perhaps such a public admission will give me a kick in the pants to finally read all of these books.

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by BrokeandBookish.blogspot.com

1. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

I know, I know… How and why has this not been read by me?! For starters practically everyone I knew read it in high school, but it somehow missed me. Secondly, it isn’t even that long! At 180 pages I could read this in an afternoon, but it has just never happened. It sounds a lot like a book I would love, so maybe I’m just scared it will disappoint. Someone please assure me that it will not disappoint.

2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

This is another popular high school English teacher selection and another one I was able to avoid. Unlike Gatsby I really have no desire to read this one. From what I’ve heard the whole Catherine and Heathcliff thing sounds tiresome. I might be completely off on this one, and feel free to argue in its defense, but I’m not planning on reading this one anytime soon.

3. 1984 by George Orwell

Again I think I was probably supposed to read this at some point, but missed it. When you move across the country in the middle of high school there are a lot of things that get lost in the transition. This actually is a book I want to read and hopefully will get to it one day. For the time being I know just enough about it to understand the pop culture references and that is about it.

4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Don’t judge me! I’ve seen the movies and I love the story, but I never read the book. I don’t know why. There’s no excuse really. It just hasn’t happened yet. And there are so many new books I want to read… And maybe I’ll pick this up at the library soon and read it already.

 

 


5. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

I don’t know anything about this book except that it about books being burned and that the title is wrong. The title supposedly refers to the spontaneous burning temperature of paper, only Bradbury got it wrong. In fact, 451 celsius is about the right temp for spontaneous burning of paper. Oh well… I should probably have read this last week in honor of Banned Books Week, but I promise I will get to it soon.


6. Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret by Judy Blume

Here’s the thing. I actually read Judy Blume books as a kid, but I know I never read this one. I didn’t know anything about it at all until I was an adult. I just knew practically every girl I ever talked to seemed to have read it. Honestly, I don’t think this is a book for me. All the religious discussion just isn’t my cup of tea anymore. Oh well, I seemed to manage puberty pretty okay without reading it.

7. Knuffle Bunny by Mo Willems

I can’t believe I haven’t read this. I’ve read other Mo Willems books, but this one has continued to escape me. This wouldn’t be such a big deal if I didn’t have a kid… but I do. So I really have no excuse. I will make a vow to pick this up for my daughter next week at work.

8. The BFG  by Roald Dahl

I think every kid in my 5th grade class read this book. I somehow managed to avoid reading practically all of Roald Dahl’s books as an actually child. The only ones I ever got to were Matilda and James and the Giant Peach. Both of those books are excellent of course, but once I did get around to reading some others I realized what fun I missed as a kid. In an effort to not make the same mistake twice I’ve already bought by daughter several awesome Dahl books (just not Charlie and the Chocolate Factory… that movie freaks me out and I want nothing to do with any of).

9. Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin

This series has been highly recommended by 2 awesome ladies that I completely respect and look to for advice in all things bookish. Why haven’t I read it, you ask. Because it is huge. Each and every book is huge. So far there are 5 books and the combined page total is 4,197! Holy oh my goodness. I did recently download these to my reader to read over the winter so that I won’t have to carry around such a giant book all the time. I know once I get started I’m not going to be able to stop so if you don’t hear from me all winter, you’ll know what I’m up to. 

10. Ravens of Avalon by Diana L. Paxson

I am a die-hard Mists of Avalon fan. I read it for the first time when I was only 15 and it has remained my favorite book ever since. As soon as I finished I wanted to soak up all the other books that took place in Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Avalon world. Ravens is the sixth book in the series (although each book is separate from the others). After MZB passed away Paxson carried on her work. I actually own this one and still have not managed to read it. I’m thinking about going back and re-reading the first 5 before starting this one.

**What books are you slightly embarrassed to not have read yet?**

**Are there any books that most people read, but you just simply have no desire to pick up?**

3 Responses to “Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read”

  1. Dad October 9, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    51 Shades of Gray… have no desire to read it… I’m OK, You’re OK… a golden oldie from the 60-70’s. A bunch of quackery that completely stupidfied a generation. Don’t feel bad, I never read Animal Farm either.

    • LittleLitGirl October 10, 2012 at 12:49 am #

      I read Animal Farm a couple times. One of the joys of attending two different high schools.

  2. Kenny Mullinex October 9, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    You forgot The Sword of Truth series.

Leave a Reply

