Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray

8 Sep

Trust me… Read this book!

Have you ever read a book that felt like it lasted a lifetime? Usually this is not something I am a fan of with books. The whole reason a book feels like it lasts forever is usually because it isn’t very good. With The Diviners by Libba Bray that was not the case. I felt like I lived the story more so than any other book I’ve read in the recent past. It felt like I was immersed in the universe the very talented Ms. Bray created for quite some time… and I loved every minute of it.

Historical paranormal mysteries are Libba Bray’s forté to the extreme. Having read her previous ventures into that genre, I was ecstatic to have her release a book going back to those roots where she began with the Gemma Doyle books (A Great and Terrible Beauty, Rebel Angels, and The Sweet Far Thing). Her contemporary satires have never really grabbed my interest (although I do plan on giving them both another chance) and I was certain that The Diviners (which will be another series… YAY) would take me back to that place I was while reading the Gemma Doyle books.

This cover is seriously awesome and total book-nerd eye candy!

I was lent The Diviners by a very awesome friend who had acquired an ARC of it. When I first got it I was a bit overwhelmed because it is about 600 pages long. I haven’t read a book that long in quite some time because, honestly, for the most part they are difficult to carry with me in my purse. And before anyone says I should get a reader, I’d like to say I have one, but this was a hardcopy ARC and therefore not really compatible with my Sony Reader.

I don’t know why I was concerned about the length. Once I started reading it I became completely wrapped up in it. The alternative Flapper era world that the author created was fabulous. Our main character, Evie, a wannabe flapper from Ohio, has ambitions to be the talk of the town in New York City. She technically is sent to live with her Uncle Will in NY as punishment, but she sees it as a way to live life to the fullest. The whole book is full of jazz, hooch, flappers, and funny little 1920’s slang words that I had to look up online (like “Everything’s jake…”). And then there is the sinister and disturbing murders that have been happening all over the city and Evie’s determination to solve the case using her own special “power.”

Throughout the story we are introduced to several other characters with their own secret power and we discover how they are all tied into the murderous plot of a deranged killer, who may be a ghost of a killer from 50 years ago. Each of these characters plays out a very important role and a lot is left unrevealed leaving plenty of room for the sequel(s).

I don’t want to go too much into the plot, but everyone has secrets and some are definitely bigger than others. I cannot wait to see what happens in the next book.

Libba Bray has me hooked once again. Her characters are real and likeable. This book isn’t just about the 1920’s or about a cult-killer determined to bring the end of days. It is also about race, class, prohibition, relationships, and plenty of  secrets.

If you are looking for the perfect weekend read The Diviners is where it is at. It is definitely a book you won’t want to put down. There is also plenty of suspense and eerie occurrences to keep you up late at night trying to read that one last page before getting some shut-eye.

I’m giving it my un-official “Best Book of 2012” award. I can’t imagine anything being able to beat this one to be my #1.

My GoodReads Rating: didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it it was amazing

The Diviners by Libba Bray will be released September 18th, 2012.

One Response to “Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Author Signing Swag – Libba Bray « A Little Bit of Lit - September 27, 2012

    […] Her most recent book, The Diviners, is by far her very best work so far. It was a giant book and worthy of every page of text. For more info about it please see my review. […]

Leave a Reply

