Top Ten Tuesday: Character Edition

26 Jun

The topic of today’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to us by the lovely folks at The Broke and the Bookish, is Characters Who Remind Me Of Myself Or Someone I Know In Real Life. Okay so that’s a mouthful, but I also have no idea how to compile this list. So I’m tweaking it some.

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by BrokeandBookish.blogspot.com

5 Characters I’d Love to Be

1. Anne Shirley (from the Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery)

Anne is a force to be reckoned with. She is sassy, intelligent, and a true survivor. As a young foster child in the late 1800s she had to deal with being treated like a second class citizen and yet still maintained an amazing imagination and zeal for life. Sure she gets into all kinds of trouble, but I think every young girl should find herself in a fair amount of scrapes. I aim to live life the way Anne did all the way… except I don’t think I’ll be dying my hair greenish black anytime soon.

2. Alanna Trebond (from the Song of the Lioness Quartet by Tamora Pierce)

Alanna wanted to be a knight. Girls didn’t become knights. Alanna didn’t accept that. Not only does she manage to become a knight (while pretending to be a boy), she becomes an amazing knight, a great woman, and a close personal friend of some of the most amazing people in her world. I read the Alanna books when I was in 6th grade and they have stuck with me ever since. I actually own the set in paperback and an anthology of all 4 together in hardback. I cannot wait for my daughter to be able to get to know one of my most beloved characters. Alanna’s boldness, strength of heart, and determination are things that I certainly aim to possess.

3. Jacky Faber (from the Bloody Jack series by L.A. Meyer)

Jacky is someone who has managed to take lemons and make a whole lot of lemonade. A poor orphan, living on the streets of 19th century London, Jacky decides to take it upon herself to change her life around. She disguises herself as a boy and gets work as a ship’s boy upon a Navy ship. Her adventurous nature, continuously curious mind, and ability to talk her way out of almost anything are qualities that I find to be very desirable.

4. Matilda Wormwood (from Matilda by Roald Dahl)

Ry and I are currently listening to this book in the car. I read it when I was probably around 8 or 9 and I’ve seen the movie a half-dozen times, but there’s something special about hearing it read aloud that is making me fall in love with the main character all over again. Matilda’s gutsy nature and slightly mischievous mind are what makes her such an amazing child. Sure she can read at age 4, but I did that so it can’t be hard… right? Her intelligence allows her to constantly be one step ahead of her ridiculous parents and other adults in her life. I wish I had been as bold as Matilda when I was a child, but at least I can aim to be more like her now.

5. Katniss Everdeen (from the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins)

Oh yeah, I went there. Who doesn’t want to be like Katniss? She is one bad ass chick and yet never seems to understand how amazing she really is. She is a great example of what can happen when fairly ordinary people are put into extraordinary circumstances. Any of us might do things the same as Katniss did when facing all the trials before her. Some of us wouldn’t be so bold, brave, or inventive, but I think we all hold the capacity to care as Katniss did about the people in her life (especially her sister and Rue).

5 Characters I Never Want to Be

1. Severus Snape (from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling)

Seriously… Snape kind of sucks. Reading about him is like listening to a Katy Perry’s “Hot ‘n Cold”. How could anyone be okay with themselves when they are constantly on the verge of betraying one trust or another? It must wreak havoc on a person’s psyche for sure. I hate secrets and can’t handle not being a full disclosure kind of gal, so I will definitely never be anything like Severus Snape.

2. Emerson Cole (from the Hourglass series by Myra McEntire)

Bella Swan is old news by now, but there are still plenty of characters being written these days. I honestly love the Hourglass books, but I was not the biggest fan of the protagonist from the first novel. She isn’t quite as bad as Bella, but she annoyed the crud out of me. She just seemed to be described as so flippin’ perfect and yet had no idea she was pretty. She got so caught up in her love for a boy that she was willing to mess up the time space continuum or something to that degree. It all kind of made me gag. BUT she was 17 in that book and I gotta admit I did some stupid stuff when I was 17 as well (nothing that could bring about the end of time, but still not bright ideas). Although Emerson is a sacrificer and many see that as admirable, sometimes you it can be too much and ya gotta be a bit selfish.

3. Sookie Stackhouse (from the Southern Vampire Mystery (True Blood) series by Charlaine Harris)

I love this series. I’ve been reading it for about 10 years now and am super sad that it will be over next year. But none of that makes me want to be Sookie Stackhouse. Her life is insane. It is a never-ending onslaught of attacks, supernatural boyfriends, and friends dying or being put in terrible situations. But the number one thing that I couldn’t stand about having Sookie’s life is Sam. I love Sam. Sookie clearly loves Sam. Sam clearly loves Sookie… So why is this damn thing taking so long to actually happen?! Because Sookie is an idiot. She could have had Sam in book one if she wanted, but she was swept away by the mysterious Vampire, Bill. After a few other mistakes with other supernatural men, she ended up with Eric?! Don’t get me wrong I love Eric, but he is a terrible choice for any long-term relationship. Anyway, finally in the most recent book we get a glimpse of the Sookie/Sam thing maybe going somewhere in the final book. I understand that the series probably would’ve been boring if Sookie and Sam were together from the get go, but I wouldn’t want to live a life of it never working out for any reason.

4. Miss Minchin (from A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett)

The character of Miss Minchin lacks compassion, imagination, and is an all around un-nice lady. She is only good to little Sara as long as she has money. I get that once she didn’t have money Sara would have to earn her keep and all, but I don’t understand why Miss Minchin had to be so terrible about the whole thing. The world is full of Miss Minchins and that fact is indeed sad. To lose all the wonderful qualities that make others love us and want us is awful. In many ways I disliked Miss Minchin, but really I mostly just feel sorry for her.

5. Scarlett O’Hara (from Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell)

I loved Gone With the Wind. I loved the book, I loved the movie and I even had a Scarlett doll at one point. But I never wanted to be Scarlett. That chick is crazy pants. Running around treating everyone terribly and marrying men she doesn’t care a flit about. Being more concerned about maintaining a 18 inch waist than the state of the world she lived in. Scarlett may have claimed to do things for love, but I know what Rhett knew. She was always in it for selfish reasons and never realized how much she had to lose till it was gone. She has some strong qualities for sure, but she is the ultimate mean girl.

One Response to “Top Ten Tuesday: Character Edition”

  1. Cassie June 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    I NEVER EVER EVER want to be Bella Swan. I would hope someone would slap me silly for that. However, I would also love to be/think I am Matilda. She’s wonderful. I love that book and movie.

Leave a Reply

