Review: Jessica Rules the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey

22 Jun

It had been awhile since I had read the first book, Jessica’s Rules for Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey, but everything still seemed pretty fresh. Jessica Rules the Dark Side was much darker than the first one. It was much more about the dark, secretive lives of the vampire clans and not at all about high school.

Jessica/Anastasia is a young vampire princess, married, and preparing to become the Queen of all vampires (or something along those lines). Let’s face it, most 18/19-year-old girls are not prepared to rule much of anything and Jess is no different. Scared and nervous don’t begin to describe what Jessica is feeling. 1000s of miles away from home, without her best friend or parent, is something a lot of older teens can identify with (kind of like go off to college). However, just getting to know the darker side of her warrior husband, worrying about being destroyed by your enemies, having to lead a nation of vampires… most teen girls are not too familiar with that.

The book had plenty of romance, action, mystery, and drama. I figured out who the true antagonist was pretty early on, but it was still interesting to see how everything played out.

Main Pro: Anything with Rainero. His Italian, surfer, peace-loving self was just as hot as his royal, vampire, warrior self in my opinion.

Main Con: Mindy’s CONSTANT mispronunciation of all the “foreign” names drove me crazy. I suppose Eastern European names could be kind of hard to say for most Americans, but she even calls Lucius and Rainero (who are personal friends of hers) by stupid nicknames. Every time she called Lucius by Lukey or Rainero by Ronnie I wanted to smack her. Maybe if they called themselves those names it wouldn’t have bothered me as much… But I’m a big believer in calling someone by their proper name unless told otherwise by the person themselves.

Rating: didn't like it it was ok liked it (my current rating) really liked it it was amazing

I gave it a 3 star rating because even though I enjoyed it, I didn’t love it as much as I like the first book. Despite attempts at humor I didn’t feel like any of them fit with the story very often.

Leave a Reply

