Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Summer TBR List

20 Jun

Okay, I know it is already Wednesday, but yesterday it was honestly too hot to think and I forgot to post this. I had it all typed up on Monday and then my brain just stopped working yesterday.

I haven’t done one of these in a while, but I always like making lists and definitely have quite a few good ones to add to this list. Plus I have been on a total review train lately and thought it was time to break up the monotony.

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by BrokeandBookish.blogspot.com

My Top Ten TBR Books for Summer 2012

1. Endlessly (by Kiersten White)

I seriously need this book like right now. I cannot handle knowing so many people who have already read it and yet I have no access to it. July 24th cannot come soon enough for me.

In case you aren’t familiar with Kiersten White’s series, Step 1: Go get Paranormalcy, Step 2: Read it, Step 3: Get Supernaturally, Step 4: Read it, Step 5: Pre-order Endlessly… I think you get the point.

These aren’t amazing works of literature, but I seriously love these books. What’s more, I love the witty, quirky humor of Kiersten White. She is seriously like that in real life. I read her blog… she is hilarious.

2. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier 

The GoodReads synopsis says, “Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!”

So it involves time travel (which seems to be the new “vampires”) and I’m all for that.

I was told to read this book awhile ago. Whenever I would visit my favorite teen librarians and asked for recommendations they would both ask, “Did you read Hourglass or Ruby Red yet?”. And every time I had to say no. I finally got around to reading Hourglass and immediately fell in love, but for some reason Ruby Red didn’t ever jump out when I would stare at my TBR pile. But now it is 2nd or 3rd on my bookshelf (it will have to wait till I finish the book I am currently reading and also may have to wait for me to finish the next one on the list…).

3. Changeling by Philippa Gregory 

Did you read The Other Boleyn Girl, or one of the hundred other Phillipa Gregory historical fiction awesomenesses that exists? If you haven’t had the pleasure yet, promise not to judge them based off the terrible Natalie Portman vehicle that completely slaughtered Gregory’s original story.

This is Ms. Gregory’s first foray into Young Adult Fiction… but not really. Many of her characters start out as young adults in the novels, but this is the first time she has written for a young adult audience (so I guess there will be less sex).

GoodReads tells me, “Dark myths, medieval secrets, intrigue, and romance populate the pages…” Well that certainly seems promising. I actually get to pick this book up tomorrow from the library, so you all will know soon enough how I felt about it.

4. The Diviners by Libba Bray 

So technically this book comes out on September 18th, but that still summer right? Fall doesn’t officially start until Sept. 22nd. Anyway, I fell in love with Libba Bray when I read  A Great and Terrible Beauty. The title alone is awesome and the book totally lived up to it. Since Beauty continued with two more books (Rebel Angels and  A Sweet Far Thing), I’m hoping this series will have at least 2 more additions.

Here Libba Bray returns to the historical based fantasy genre after a visiting the contemporary fiction genre for a bit (Going Bovine and Beauty Queens). This time we have New York, 1920s, murder investigations, occult… a great mix that promises another great series from Libba Bray.

5. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake 

After reading Carrie Ryan’s Forest of Hands and Teeth series I’ve stayed away from the horror/suspense for awhile. There were quite a few nights lost to intense hours of reading and I wasn’t quite ready to go down that road again.

Since it is of the horror genre I prefer not to know much about the plot, but the first part of the GoodReads synopsis reads, “Just your average boy-meets-girl, girl-kills-people story…” 

So that seems like something that might be keeping me up a bit. Maybe I will start the book first thing in the morning and read all day to avoid staying up to finish it.

6. Across the Universe by Beth Revis 

Amy, age 17, boards a spaceship, in which she and her family will be frozen and transported to a distant planet. When they arrive it will be 300 years after they left home. Only Amy is woken up 50 years early and discovers a murder plot which she must stop.

I’ve probably checked this book out at least 4 times from the library. Every time I fully intend on reading it, but it always has holds and I have to return it before I get a chance to read it. This time I’m borrowing it from a friend to avoid the holds issue. Even though there isn’t a rush to return it this time, I am actually really looking forward to reading it.

7.  Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore 

Set in a world where people have special “graces”, or powers, Bitterblue has inherited a kingdom that was oppressed for decades by her psychopath, mind controlling father. Now she must piece together the kingdom by visiting the past (even if it isn’t all pleasant).

I breezed through Graceling. I couldn’t stop reading it. I was so excited when Fire came out I thought I would  read it in one sitting, but it wasn’t a sequel and I wanted to know what happened to Katsa and Po and Bitterblue… but  I had to wait. Now that Bitterblue is finally out I am hopefully going to be able to find out what did happen.

8. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare 

Why haven’t I read this book yet?! I own the paperback AND the e-book. Everyone keeps telling me how amazing these books are. There is already like 20 of them, right? Well that might be a slight exaggeration, but I know there are a bunch and I know I will probably love them.

I should just listen to GoodReads, “Exotic and gritty, exhilarating and utterly gripping, Cassandra Clare’s ferociously entertaining fantasy takes readers on a wild ride that they will never want to end.”

It will most likely end up like The Hunger Games. I will jump on the train super late and then kick myself for not having read them sooner because they are fantastic… I will conquer you, Cassandra Clare novels, this summer!

9. The Selection by Kiera Cass 

Okay, so part of my reasoning for wanting to read The Selection, might have a little something to do with the fact that it is being made into a television series for the CW this fall. The book was just released in April and already has a TV show… DANG! I’m hoping this means the book is awesome.

It sounds kind of like The Hunger Games meets the Miss America pageant. A weird combination, I’m sure, but fitting since the main character’s name is in fact America.

10. This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers 

As mentioned before, I have been avoiding horror. To be more specific I have been avoiding zombie fiction. I love zombie fiction in all formats, but zombie fiction novels totally freak me out. When I watch The Walking Dead I don’t feel as though I am living the story, but when I read about the same things it can feel too real. So I have to space out my zombie fiction.

This Is Not a Test is a different kind of zombie fiction. Even though it seems like a regular zombie apocalypse book it is supposed to dig deeper into the meaning of living and whether or not it might be worth it in the face of such tragedy. The main character, Sloane, struggles with the will to live as she watches the world she knew dissolve into complete chaos.

3 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Summer TBR List”

  1. Megan June 20, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Great list! I need to work on Graceling and Across the Universe. I loved Ruby Red and This is Not a Test, which is more a pychological thriller than a zombie book. I have the 5th TMI book on my TBR list. They are good, but I am annoyed that she extended the trilogy. I prefer her Infernal Devices series.

  2. Megan June 22, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I am dying to read Endlessly and The Selection! Anna Dressed in Blood, Across the Universe and City of Bones are all amazing!

    BTW I tagged you for The Liebster Blog Award

    • LittleLitGirl June 22, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks for tagging me… One question though. How do I find blogs with less than 200 followers? All of the blogs I currently follow have hundreds of followers or more. How did you pick your’s out?

Leave a Reply

