Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

10 Jun

It’s like Cinderella in a distant future version of Asia, except she is a cyborg, there is a terrible plague, and Earthen people are in fear of a war being started by the Queen of the Lunar people…

If someone explained this book to me ahead of time, I might not have ever given it a chance. It seriously sounds kind of ridiculous, but it totally completely works.


Linh Cinder (remember we’re in Asia and names are “backwards”) is an orphaned, cyborg mechanic in a world that doesn’t like cyborgs. Her “stepmother”/guardian can’t stand the sight of her, one of her step-sisters is truly terrible to her, and even the bakery vendor across the market tells her son not to go near Cinder out of hatred and fear. The only good things in Cinder’s life are her android, Iko, and her youngest stepsister Peony. They are her only ones she ever really talks to. Then she meets Prince Kai, the future Emperor of the Eastern Commonwealth. As she promises to fix his non-functioning android, she has no idea what she will be getting herself into. The story continues with mystery, suspense, betrayal, disease, corruption, and a splash of romance.

I picked Cinder up at 10:30pm and finished it by lunch the next day. I will definitely be recommending this one to others.

Be warned though… Cinder has a total cliffhanger ending and the next one isn’t due till early 2013. But if Cinder is any indication of Marissa Meyer’s writing ability, I’m sure its sequel will be worth the wait!

Rating: didn't like it it was ok liked it really liked it it was amazing (my current rating)

One Response to “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer”

  1. pointlesspurplebubbles June 10, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I read Cinder a while ago and I have to stay I really loved it, the twist it adds to the original tales is quite unique and interesting. I died a little inside when I found out that my questions wouldn’t be answered and that I had to wait for the other books to come out, which by the way aren’t going to be told in Cinder’s point of view!

Leave a Reply

