The TARDIS, Zack Morris, and Vampires?

18 Mar

The first awesome thing to happen this weekend was a very special package I received Saturday containing the new decal I had ordered for my laptop…

Image

It is bigger on the inside...

Since my dad went out of town for the weekend, I agreed to puppysit Honey overnight. I didn’t really think much about the fact that it was St. Patrick’s Day because I really dislike crowds and over-drinking, so the day is pretty much lost on me. I do wear green though because it is not only my favorite color, but the day is considered part of my personal heritage. Anyway, Ry and I went to my dad’s for the night. Around 10pm my friends Sarah and Morgan brought over ice cream. That was pretty awesome, but the discovery we made on Netflix was even more so. Saved By the Bell is on Netflix people. We only watched a couple of minutes because we were all so tired. I cannot wait to get Ryann off to school tomorrow so I can come home and watch it while I eat breakfast like I did in the old days.



Every now and then I find something really awesome and unusual. Today was that day! Ry and I stopped by Ollie’s Bargain Outlet in Parma while we were on that side of town to dog sit. We found the usual… Bibles, Inspirational novels, tons of generic kids books, lots of old bestsellers, cheap coffee table books. But today we stumbled across a couple gems. The first was a 6 pack of Ni Hao Kai Lan and Wonder Pets readers for only $4! That alone was worth the trip, saving us about $14 if we had bought them individually. The second was so much better.

As we were about ready to give up on finding much else Ryann spotted this…

Way better than "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies!"

I was probably more excited to find this than Ryann. She has no idea who Dick and Jane are, but I remember my first Kindergarten class using their books as learning tools. I don’t know if I ever bothered with them since I pretty much knew how to read at that point, but I know a lot of kids did and I’m sure many still do use them. At first I thought it would be something meant for adults, but the book is literally just as G rated as the original ones. The publisher just took out a random character and put in a vampire. It is completely brilliant. You can find Dick and Jane and Vampires on Amazon for about $10 or if you are in the area go out to an Ollie’s (particularly the one in Parma) and pick it up for much less.

I’m hoping this is the start of a cute trend in which someone just adds something like a vampire to simple kids books that are very dated and uninteresting to children today. I don’t know quite how I feel about the trend of adding supernatural beings to classic works of literature, but I think something like the above is completely harmless and fun.

Leave a Reply

