Out of My Rut: Or how I watched too much BBC, discovered Pinterest, and was saved by The Hunger Games

15 Mar

Soooo… I’m back (again). I know it has been FOREVER and a day since I made a post. Believe me I started about 20 of them, but nothing ever felt worthy enough to share. I’ve been going through something all avid readers loathe… the reading rut. Nothing seemed interesting. Anything that wasn’t reading seemed more important. And every time I would pick up a book it would almost like a chore. It made me sad. Even going into Half Price Books (one of my absolute favoritest places on the planet) wasn’t nearly as fun as it used to be. I visited Ollie’s recently and found a lot of awesome books, but even that didn’t shake me out of my rut.

I did read… kinda sorta. I kept starting books and then putting them down to watch Downton Abbey or Land Girls (Side note: If you haven’t caught Land Girls, try it out. It isn’t as good as Downton or Upstairs Downstairs, but it definitely helps fill the gap left behind when our favorite period dramas aren’t currently airing).

I also joined Pinterest. I should have known from the beginning that it would take over hours of my time. It is worse than Wikipedia for me. I used to get lost in wikis for hours on end and not even remember where I had started, but Pinterest is a visual thing. Visual for me is like drugs to an addict. You can talk at me all day and I’m perfectly capable of tuning it all out. Half the information I read in wikis leaves my brain within a few days… but show me something shiny, brightly colored, or patterned and I’ll hold on to that image forever. What makes it even worse is that there is an iPhone app. Apps are basically they death of me. If I know I can access something anywhere at anytime with ease I’m hooked.

So back to my rut. It was pretty awful. I would get bored and still not want to read anything that I could think of. I bought a book I had been wanting to read for a while and it sat untouched on the shelf in my bedroom. I would see an awesome book at the library and pick it up to take it home, only to put it back down again because I knew deep down I wouldn’t read it in the allotted lending time.

When one gets into this kind of rut, it usually takes a phenomenal book to snap you out of it. And that is exactly what happened. I bought a little Sony Reader awhile back, but lost the charger/data transfer cable for it. I ordered a charger off Amazon and it turned out to be the wrong one. I sent it back and ordered the correct one and got my reader working again. I had about a dozen Advance Reader Copies to load on it, but for some unknown reason I didn’t feel the urge to read any of these free books. I thought for sure the allure of reading a book not yet in stores would push me back to reading, but it had no effect. So there my little pink reader sat on a table in my living room… just waiting to be turned on again.

One day I got an email from the Sony Reader store. I get emails about promotions, new books, and sales all the time. Usually it is nothing I am interested in, but for once something caught my eye. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins was on sale for the Reader. I knew the movie was coming out and friends had been telling me to read the books for years, but I had never gotten around to it. I seriously knew nothing about these books or the upcoming movie. I had seen a couple of promotional shots on the covers of recent magazines, but knew nothing else of the cast. I knew that the books were set in future dystopian America, but that was it. And I knew the main character was named Katniss (a fact that stuck with me due to the uniqueness of the name).

I bought it immediately. I loaded it on my Reader and headed out to take Ryry off to her Girl Scout meeting. As I sat in the cafeteria while a half-dozen excitable kindergarten girls sang and talked I started The Hunger Games. It probably wasn’t the best choice of place to begin such an emotional journey. I teared up after only a few pages and was instantly swept up in the world of District 12. Why hadn’t I read this yet?! Dystopia is my thing. Strong female character facing incredible odds in dystopia is like my drug of choice. Even though I wanted to keep reading straight through, I gave myself some distance from it a couple of times to enjoy the gorgeous weather we’ve been having lately.

Within minutes of finishing the book I bought the second one for my Reader as well. I am very much looking forward to the movie as well.

The Hunger Games is exactly the kind of story that got me excited about a potential career in Library Science.

**More on The Hunger Games and other amazing YA series soon**

2 Responses to “Out of My Rut: Or how I watched too much BBC, discovered Pinterest, and was saved by The Hunger Games”

  1. Erin Maseth Mullins March 16, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    I have been dealing with the same rut, which is ridiculous since I have had a ton of down time where the best thing I could possibly do is read! Thanks for texting me about the hunger games. I borrowed it from Amazon during the week of my surgery, and never got around to starting it till yesterday. Keep up the recommendations, I am always looking for new things to check out.

    • LittleLitGirl March 16, 2012 at 9:17 am #

      I really thought being unemployed would mean catching up on all my reading, but I think I’ve actually read less than when I worked full time. I really think the warm weather is helping as well. Instead of curling up on the couch and being cold while watching TV, I’ve been going out on the front porch and enjoying the warmth while reading.

      And I will be sure to keep up the recommendations.

Leave a Reply

