Top Ten Books On My To Be Read List For Winter (YA Edition)

28 Nov

Welcome to another edition of Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s list is the Top Ten Books on my Teen Book TBR list. This list is ever-changing, but I think I can narrow down the Top 10.

1. City of Bones (by Cassandra Clare)

This is yet another of those books I can’t believe I haven’t read yet. My friends have told me how awesome it is and I even own one of the series (having picked it up cheap at a buyout store). I didn’t really know much about it for a while and then I saw a post on Facebook about the “runes” from the series and was intrigued.

After looking them up via Google Images, I decided that an author that created that much detail for her work was worth reading. These designs are very cool and you can even get Rune jewelry made if you are a hardcore fan.

2. The Hunger Games (by Suzanne Collins)

I’ll be honest here… The rush to read this book is because the movie is coming out in March, BUT I have been wanting to read it for a very long time.The Hunger Games series is kind of like Harry Potter… well actually it is nothing like Harry Potter, but the interest in the two series by adults and kids alike is very similar. The first person to recommend this book to me was an adult non-librarian friend and I didn’t even realize for a bit that it was a YA book.

If you aren’t familiar with The Hunger Games, it is about a dystopian society in which one teen girl and one teen boy from each district of the nation of Panem (in what was known as North America at one point) to participate in the Hunger Games. The games are broadcasted on television and are a fight to the death.

Sounds pretty brutal right?! Oddly enough during the Holiday season I tend to read more books like this though. Perhaps the joy and fun of the Holidays is more than enough to keep me from being as dreary as the subject material I am reading.

3. Anna Dressed in Blood (by Kendare Blake)

The title of this book is what initially caught my eye. There really aren’t a lot of teen books out there with titles this… well bloody. I haven’t really dug into horror in a while. I’ve read some supernatural horror-esque teen romancey type stuff, but it was all wishy-washy and mostly just brooding teenagers with far too few problems to distract them from their “undying love”. This might be that kind of book, but I don’t think it is.

Anna is a ghost, a killer, a victim, that wears the white prom dress she wore when she was murdered in 1958. Now the dress is covered and dripping in blood! No person has ever lived to get close to Anna and now there is a ghost killer that she has spared…

Goodreads reviews seem pretty positive and I know a couple of people that have read it and enjoyed it. I think fans of Carrie Ryan’s Forest of Hands and Teeth series will like this book.

4. Ruby Red (by Kerstin Gier)

As a teen one of my favorite series was Caroline B. Cooney’s Time Travelers series. The basic storyline is that there is a girl who travels back in time and meets a boy and they fall in love. The rest of the series is mostly about them traveling through the past and present trying to make their relationship work and overcome the obstacles in their way (including being stuck in Ancient Egypt at one point).

Ruby Red seems to take the basic ideas I enjoyed about the Time Travelers series and add more complex and maybe even mature content to the story. The main character Gwyneth comes from a family of time travelers. Her “older” cousin Charlotte has been raised thinking she would be  the one to inherit the power, but Gwyneth is the one who the power passes to.

I feel like time travel has been overlooked lately and I look forward to reading a book about it again.

5. The Mark of the Golden Dragon (by L.A. Meyer)

Jackie Faber is back!!!! I dove into these books via audiobook this year. My sister recommended the first in the series to me years ago, but I never bothered to pick it up until a lovely librarian friend of mine said I pretty much had to read (well listen to actually) them. These audio books are the best I’ve ever listened to. The narrator is fantastic and the detail involved is amazing. Each character has a very distinct voice and most of them have well crafted accents as well. When the main character sings in the story, the narrator sings as well (and does a good job of it too).

The Bloody Jack series is great for everyone. Teens, adults, males, females, parents, grandparents… If you like adventure stories that are filled with history and a side of pirating then please go pick up Bloody Jack and fall in love with Jacky Faber as well.

The Mark of the Golden Dragon is the 9th book in the series and I can’t wait to get my hands on it.

6. Eon: Dragoneye Reborn (by Alison Goodman)

I love a good fantasy story. Even better is one about a girl disguising herself as a boy in order to do something completely forbidden to females. Eon is right up my alley. Eona has been living as Eon, a 16-year-old boy, for years in order to become a Dragon-eye. Women are not allowed to practice Dragon Magic and Eona faces death if she is discovered. The basic plot is very reminiscent of one of my favorite YA fantasy series by Tamora Pierce, The Song of the Lioness Quartet. However, from what I understand, Eon is filled with more excitement and a lot more mythology. This is exactly the type of fantasy book to keep me up all night reading.

7. Jessica Rules the Darkside (by Beth Fantaskey)

This book is not a serious piece of literature. It is probably silly and simply written and full of outrageous vampire mythology that makes Bram Stoker shiver in his grave… But I read the first Jessica book and I want to know what happens. In Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, the main character, Jessica, finds out she is a Romanian vampire princess that is betrothed the Lucius Vladescu (a Vampire princes of course). She just wants to be a normal teenager and date a normal boy, but can’t deny the feeling she has for Lucius. As expected it is a simple fantasy romance story that gives no allusions to being a grand work of fiction, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to the January release of its sequel.

8. Fade & Gone (by Lisa McMann)

I read (listened to) the first of this series, Wake, in my car in pretty much one sitting. The audiobook is only about 4 discs and I didn’t want to stop listening so I skipped a morning of classes two springs ago and sat in my warm car and listened to the whole thing before lunch. It was unique and interesting and obviously a quick read (listen). I have the audiobooks for both Fade and Gone on my iPod, but I’ve yet to read (listen) them. The basic plot is as follows:

Janie is a dream catcher. She can go inside other people’s dreams. This is making her life much more complicated than it already was and now there is mystery to unravel. With the help of Cabel, a cute and mysterious local boy with a bad-boy image, Janie sorts out what is really going on.

9. Bleeding Hearts (by Alyxandra Harvey)

Another Drake Chronicle book is about to come out! I know the vampire genre is overdone and getting a bit annoying, but I’m sticking with the series that I have started. My favorite, and perhaps the most unusual, is the Drake Chronicles. The Drakes are a family of genetic vampires. They are just like normal humans until age 16 and then they undergo a very painful and complex change. They also happen to be vampire royalty.

The books switch perspective between two different characters in each book, but the overall storyline is consistent. If you fall in love with one of the main characters in one of the books their storyline is continued, just through the viewpoint of another character. This series has its own version of the vampire mythology and are a breath of fresh air in a world of Twilight and Vampire Diaries.

10. Across the Universe (by Beth Revis)

Space travel hasn’t been on my TBR list in a very long time. The story is about Amy, a 17-year-old on a frozen cargo ship heading to a new planet, in which the passengers will be awoken 300 years in the future. Her 300 year sleep ends 50 years too soon and she soon discovers it ended because another passenger tried to murder her. She must figure out the mystery before her parents are the next victims.

The sequel to Across the Universe comes out in January, so I better tackle this TBR list as soon as possible!

One Response to “Top Ten Books On My To Be Read List For Winter (YA Edition)”

  1. lightningpen June 11, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    Hi, these all sound to be great selections! I especially love The Hunger Games, because it’s really well written! Thank you for the follow! Keep writing and reading! Nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

