And I’m back in the game… Plus Top Ten Tuesday!

15 Nov

I literally stopped writing this blog the same week I began a new job as an assistant Preschool teacher… I also developed a weird long-lasting case of laryngitis around the same time. I am no longer working in the child care industry, my laryngitis is gone, and I’ve decided that my blog was necessary to keep me sane so maybe that’s why life got crazy for a while.

I’m trying to get back into the library business because A) I love it, B) I miss it, and C) It is the only type of job I am actually qualified for. After a few weeks of a weird sickness that changed my life (i.e. caused me to no longer be employed), I am extremely thankful for what has happened. Sure going to the hospital and being told that my heart rate was 133, needing two IV treatments for dehydration, and undergoing sonograms to inspect all my abdominal parts wasn’t a joy ride, but it is where everything started to unravel. And here is where I’m putting it all back together…

What better way to bring back my blog than with a Top Ten Tuesday post, inspired from the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s list is the Top Ten Unread on My Bookshelf:

1. Zombies vs. Unicorns (edited by Holly Black & Justine Larbelastier)

I know everyone seems to have read this and loved it. And yes everyone has been telling me to read it forever now. And yes I am familiar with most of the authors and am a fan of several of them… So why haven’t I read it?! Because I bought it. I knew it was something I would probably absolutely love to read. I saw it for a really good price and bought it without even thinking about it. And then it just sat on my shelf. People come to my apartment and ask about it and I encourage them to read it because it is SOOO good… if they only knew I hadn’t actually read more than two paragraphs of it. I am putting this book on my official 2012 read list… check back next December to see if I followed through. :)

2. The Passage (by Justin Cronin)

This is perhaps one of the saddest of my abandoned book tales. Once upon a time my father bought this book and read it in no more than 3 days (because he really is the kind of guy who can read a 784 page book in 3 days and yet still have time to eat, sleep, watch his TV shows, and have a social life). He then passed it on to his fiancée to read. I picked it up at her house and started to read. I was immediately sucked it. I wanted to know what was going to happen next… and then I put it down. I was in school, I had a job, my daughter was an active preschooler, and it was in fact 784 pages in hardcover. It was not exactly the kind of book I could throw in my purse and carry with me everywhere. I’ve even lent The Passage to 2 people, praising the first three chapters that I read. Both people returned it and said they loved it and were going to recommend it to others. And yet it still sits unfinished by me…. I can’t imagine when I will be able to complete it, but I know it will be worth every minute when I do.

3. Water for Elephants (by Sara Gruen)

No, I don’t want to read this because R-Patz is in the movie version. In fact I heard about this book long before the movie was even considered. My sister, who was still in high school at the time, read it for english class and loved it. She told me I HAD to read it. I didn’t. A few other people read it and recommended it to me… I still didn’t. I saw it at work and took it home 3 times, but never read it. I heard that there was going to be a movie made and I thought, “I better read this book beforehand so no one tells me about the movie and ruins the plot of the book for me.” I still didn’t. I saw it at a Library book sale for $1 and thought buying it would make it easier to read since the movie was about to come out and most available copies had long hold lists on them. And you know what happened. It sits on my shelf unread like the others… Reading List 2012 has a new entry.

4. Leviathan/Behemoth (by Scott Westerfeld)

“Steampunk awesomeness” is commonly used to describe these books. That alone would normally be enough to convince me to read this series. “Fantastic illustrations” would usually get me too. Alas the two books have sat untouched for quite some time. With the 3rd installment already out, I really need to get on top of this series already. But for that matter I haven’t read ANY Scott Westerfeld books yet despite so many of my YA reader friends insisting that they are amazing and that he is awesome.

5. Wicked/Son of a Witch (by Gregory Maguire)

I LOVED the musical Wicked. I went to see it with my best friend, Morgan, and we didn’t even have seats. We stood up behind the rest of the attendants the whole show and watched. It was one the most magical shows I’ve ever seen (and we didn’t even get the Kristan Chenoweth and Idina Menzel version). So naturally she gave me Wicked and Son of a Witch as presents. I was so excited. I read a few chapters of Wicked and then either had a big paper to write or finals or something and put it down. So of course I’ve never restarted it. I constantly consider reading it, but then go to a library and pick up a pile of books and read those instead. I wish I knew why owning a book made it harder to read.

6. Demonglass (by Rachel Hawkins)

I loved the first Hex Hall book so much. I read it in a couple of days. For me that is nearly impossible. I was so sad to have to wait for the next book to come out. When it finally did arrive at the library I was one of the first to check it out. But I never got around to reading it. The copy I have on my shelf now has never even been opened by me. I even forgot I had it at one point. I went to the library and was browsing and almost checked it out before I realized I owned it. Since the 3rd Hex Hall book comes out this Spring I think I better play catch up and finally read Demonglass.

7. Pegasus (by Robin McKinley)

For awhile there were too many vampire, werewolves, zombies, and witches in YA literature. Then I saw Pegasus! Finally something new and fresh and not overdone. But I haven’t read it. I even blogged about how excited I was to read it after finding a hardcover edition of it for super cheap. It is another book I have recommended to reader with very little knowledge about it. Fortunately, they have all reported positive things back, so I don’t have any angry patrons accusing me of recommending terrible books.

8. Song of the Wanderer (by Bruce Coville)

This is the sequel to Into the Land of the Unicorns, a book I bought at a Scholastic Book Fair in elementary school. As I am now almost 27 and haven’t finished the series I feel a bit silly. However, Bruce Coville did take FOREVER to release the second one and when he did I had given up hope long before and never thought to look for a sequel. Now there are 4 of these books and I really need to catch up so I can finally find out what happened to Cara in the land of Luster.

9. The Little Lady Agency (by Hester Browne)

This kind of chick lit is usually my cup of tea, especially in summer. I have planned to read this book for quite some time now and even picked it up at a library book sale a couple of years ago, but it continues to sit on my shelf. Now that it has acquired a couple of sequels that appear to be just as cute and fun, I once again need to play catch up and finally read this book.

10. Ya-Yas in Bloom (by Rebecca Wells)

When I first read Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood I fell in love. I fell in love with Siddalee, her mother, and all of the Ya-Yas. I felt like these women were some of the most complex and interesting characters I had come across in a long time. They all touched my heart and I felt a connection to them as a fellow southern girl. When I found out there was another book (Little Altars Everywhere) in this universe I read it immediately, but for some reason I haven’t read this third Ya-Ya book. Maybe I’m afraid it won’t be as amazing as Divine Secrets, but I’m putting in the Reading List 2012 anyway.

So many books… so little time. But I’m determined to read all of the books I own… one day. :)

One Response to “And I’m back in the game… Plus Top Ten Tuesday!”

  1. megan November 16, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    Great list! Love all things Scott Westerfeld. Get on it, girl! The audio of Water for Elephants was lovely. I think I will join you in the reading of The Little Lady Agency.

Leave a Reply

