Top Ten Tuesday! – Beach Reads Edition

1 Jun

So I’ve been really bad about blogging lately and I really have no excuse except that I keep drawing a blank when I go to write. So in order to stay on top of the exercise in my blogging abilities I will be participating in The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday.

This week’s topic is Beach Reads. What would I take to the beach…

1. Out for Blood by Alyxandra Harvey. This the third in the author’s Drake Chronicles series about a family of genetic vampires. The series puts a different twist on the traditional vampire story and also tells the story from different character’s perspective. It is refreshing to get the view from different sides, some male and some female. I really enjoyed the first two and just haven’t gotten to the third yet, but it would certainly be ideal for the beach.

2. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You OR Heist Society by Ally Carter.

The first book is the premier installment to the Gallagher Girls series about a secret spy school for brilliant teenage girls. I loved this series and cannot wait for the next installment. Heist Society is the book I am currently reading and so far has proven able to live up to the author’s other work. Whether writing about teenage spies or teenage art thieves Ally Carter is extremely enjoyable and perfect for fun flirty beach reading.

3. Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot. As a teen I enjoyed a few Princess Diaries books, but Meg Cabot has also satisfied my more “mature” taste with her Queen of Babble books. Although at times the main character Lizzie can annoy readers with her crazy notions and actions if you think about it who hasn’t done something without thinking it through completely before. This book and it’s sequels are definitely excellent beach reads.

4. Any of the Bloody Jack books by L.A. Meyer. Jacky Faber’s misadventures on the high seas (and occasionally on land) are the perfect kind of action packed swashbuckling for anyone young and old. I myself am currently listening to the fifth novel of the series on audio book. Personally I prefer the audio books because Katherine Kellgren (the narrator) is simply amazing at providing distinct characters and voices for the many different character. And if you’d rather lay back on the beach and listen to your book the Bloody Jack series would be my top recommendation.

5. Undead and Unwed by MaryJanice Davidson. The first book of another series (I never realized just how many series I read). Betsy Taylor is 30, single, and newly turned vampire. And to make matters even worse she is supposedly the Queen of the vampires and really doesn’t want the job. Since there are now 9 (soon to be 10) of these books they are most commonly found in paperback making them the ideal size for beach trips. And if you take a different one every time you go to the beach you should develop a nice tan this summer.

6. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. My co-worker Megan (yep we have two) kept telling me to read this book and I’m so glad she did. Basic rundown: Evelyn is a teenage paranormal tracker and when a weird almost invisible boy shows up inside the top-secret facility she works for things begin to change. Soon Evelyn finds out the normal will never be part of her life. This is a great book for relaxing afternoons soaking up the sun. And the added bonus is that the second book, titled Supernaturally, is coming out in late July.

7. Sea Change by Aimee Friedman. This book just made it to my TBR (to be read) pile this evening. So far what I know goes like this… Girl has drama at home, girl goes to spend summer on island, girl meets boy, boy has secret, romance and confusion ensue. Oh and apparently there is something about a mermaid. Who doesn’t want to read a mermaid story while the potential to see one might present itself.

8. Secret Society Girl by Diana Peterfreund. Yet another premier book in a series. Amy is attending an Ivy League school and there are many rumors of secret societies on campus, but Amy had no clue she would be picked to belong to the most exclusive secret society on campus (and possibly the world). This and its sequels are perfect books for the beach. There’s a bit of mystery, romance, humor, chick lit, and college tale to each book. A great mix for sunny days.

9. A Year in Provence by Peter Mayle. A non-fiction book about the life of Mayle and his wife after they left their life in England behind and move to sunny Southern France to live on a vineyard. Mayle’s portrayal of French country life is always humorous and adds a bit of culture to my rather frivolous list so far. This is my go-to feel-good book.

10. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. This book is getting a lot of attention right now with the upcoming premier of the motion picture based on it. And I say jump on that bandwagon. I loved this book so much I bought a copy and sent it to California so my mom and sister would read it immediately. In case you haven’t heard… The Help is about the interactions between black female maids and their white female employers in Jackson Mississippi during the early 1960s. Parts of it are sad, many parts are funny, and every part is based in the reality of the era. I myself grew up in the South in the 80s and 90s and witnessed first hand some of the issues that still lingered into that time. If examined closely it isn’t hard to draw parallels between that era and the current one. The Help is a wonderful story about women in very difficult situations and ideal for feeling girly on the beach.

So technically this wasn’t posted until Wednesday, but I started writing it on Tuesday and it is still Tuesday for most of the rest of the country. :)

Leave a Reply

